Navild Acosta + Fannie Sosa
Choir Of The Slain (Part XX)
Performance
October 16 | 20.30 h
Online

In our western society, relaxation and rest are a luxuries reserved for the privileged and rich. Recent studies have shown that the distribution of rest is determined by race, with people of color regularly getting less sleep than white people. Our culture has required that people of color present themselves as extraordinary performers, athletes, or entertainers in order to exist in the public realm.

Choir of the Slain (Part XX) is the second installment of the eponymous evening-length opera created by Navild Acosta and Fannie Sosa: A live song and dance activation from bed. The performance plays with multiplicitous states of being idle. Protesting the power relations of the night, which deprive people of color of rest, Sosa and Acosta create a choir, soothe and still waters, animating lace front units, bedroom negligé and other gender and sound practices.

NOTICE Due to a COVID-19 precaution, the two performances of Choir of the Slain on October 13 + 14 unfortunately had to be cancelled. Already purchased online-tickets will be automatically refunded by our ticket provider Reservix. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you. We will make up for the event on Friday, October 16 as a free livestream online.

Acclaimed scholar and Multi-Award winner FANNIE SOSA is an internationally applauded interdisciplinary artist and activist. Texts by Fannie Sosa include A White Institutions Guide For Welcoming Artists Of Color And Their Audiences, Pleasurable MOONStruation, The Origins Of Patriarchy and Bio-Hack is Black. Their performance work has been produced by Tate Modern, Matadero Madrid, and Wiener Festwochen. Through their social justice work, Sosa has provided professional development trainings and consultancy for Performance Space New York, Mousonturm and Tate Modern.

NAVILD ACOSTA is a Creative Capital Artist, Disability Futures Fellow and an internationally acclaimed artist and activist based in Berlin. Being transgender, queer and black-dominican has inspired his community based work. Navild’s written work is featured in Performance Journal, VICE, Brooklyn Magazine, Apogee Journal, BOMB Magazine. Navild’s performance works have debuted at Matadero Madrid, Tate Modern, Tanz im August and Kunst-Werke Institut, Wiener Festwochen, The David Roberts Art Foundation, The Kimmel Center, MOMA PS1, Studio Museum, New Museum. Navild has collaborated with Alicia Keys, Fannie Sosa, BEARCAT, Lyle Ashton-Harris & Ralph Lemon.

BY AND WITH Navild Acosta, Fannie Sosa performers Yvette Robertson, Maya Williams

Choir of the Slain (XX) is a production by Navild Acosta and Fannie Sosa in cooperation with SOPHIENSÆLE. Funded by Creative Capital and USA Artists Disability Futures Fund. The guest performance is Berlin is funded by the Capital Cultural Fund within the framework of the festival Risk and Resilience. With friendly support of Performance Space New York. Media partner: taz. die tageszeitung.

Navild Acosta + Fannie Sosa
Choir Of The Slain (Part XX)
Performance
Oktober 16 | 20.30 Uhr
Online

In unserer westlichen Gesellschaft sind Entspannung und Erholung Luxusgüter, die den Privilegierten und Reichen vorbehalten sind. Jüngste Studien in den USA haben gezeigt, dass das Recht auf Erholung auch von der Hautfarbe bestimmt wird: BIPOC (Black, Indigenous und People of Color) bekommen regelmäßig weniger Schlaf als weiße Menschen. Navild Acosta und Fannie Sosa sehen dieses Schlafgefälle als eine fortgesetzte Form staatlich sanktionierter Bestrafung, ein Resultat aus dem fortwährenden Erbe der Sklaverei. So verlangt unsere kapitalistische Kultur von BIPOC, dass sie sich als außergewöhnliche Performer*innen, Athlet*innen oder Entertainer*innen präsentieren, um im öffentlichen Raum zu existieren.

Choir of the Slain (Part XX) ist die Fortsetzung der gleichnamigen abendfüllenden Oper von Navild Acosta und Fannie Sosa. Die Performer*innen animieren das Setting ihrer Installation Black Power Naps, in der sie die Umverteilung von Müßiggang, Untätigkeit und qualitativ hochwertigem Schlaf fordern. Vom Bett aus mit Gesang und Tanz finden sie sich zum Chor und zelebrieren vielfältige Zustände des Untätigseins und der Faulheit. Im Protest gegen jene Machtverhältnisse der Nacht, die People of Color ihre Ruhe rauben, glätten Sosa und Acosta die Wogen, spielen mit Negligés und anderen Gender- und Sound-Praxen.

HINWEIS Aufgrund einer COVID-19-Vorsichtsmaßnahme mussten die beiden Vorstellungen von Choir of the Slain am 13. + 14. Oktober leider abgesagt werden. Bereits gekaufte Online-Tickets werden von unserem Ticketanbieter Reservix automatisch zurückerstattet. Wir bedauern die Ihnen entstandenen Unannehmlichkeiten und holen die Veranstaltung am Freitag, den 16. Oktober als kostenfreien Livestream online nach.

FANNIE SOSA ist interdisziplinäre*r Künstler*in und Aktivist*in. Zu den Texten von Sosa gehören A White Institutions Guide For Welcoming Artists Of Color And Their Audiences, Pleasant MOONStruation, The Origins Of Patriarchy und Bio-Hack Is Black. Fannie Sosas Performance-Arbeiten wurden von der Tate Modern, Matadero Madrid und den Wiener Festwochen produziert. Im Rahmen des Engagements für soziale Gerechtigkeit hat Sosa am Performance Space New York, Mousonturm Frankfurt und dem Tate Modern berufliche Weiterbildungstrainings und Beratungen gegeben.

NAVILD ACOSTA ist ein Creative Capital Artist, Disability Futures Fellow, Künstler und Aktivist mit Lebens- und Arbeitsmittelpunkt in Berlin. Seine Community-basierte Arbeit ist davon inspiriert, transgender, queer und schwarz-dominikanisch zu sein. Navilds Texte wurden vom Performance Journal, VICE, Brooklyn Magazine, Apogee Journal und BOMB Magazine veröffentlicht. Navilds Performance-Arbeiten wurden bei Matadero Madrid, Tate Modern, Tanz Im August und KW Institute for Contemporary Art, den Wiener Festwochen, The David Roberts Art Foundation, The Kimmel Center, MOMA PS1, Studio Museum und dem New Museum aufgeführt. Navild arbeitete bereits mit Alicia Keys, Fannie Sosa, BEAR-CAT, Lyle Ashton-Harris und Ralph Lemon.

VON UND MIT Navild Acosta, Fannie Sosa PERFORMANCE Yvette Robertson, Maya Williams

Choir of the Slain (XX) ist eine Produktion von Navild Acosta und Fannie Sosa in Kooperation mit SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert von Creative Capital und USA Artists Disability Futures Fund. Das Gastspiel in Berlin wird gefördert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds im Rahmen des Festivals Risk and Resilience. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Performance Space New York. Medienpartner: taz. die tageszeitung.