Jess Thom
Biscuits Without Borders: An Open Conversation
Talk
October 27 | 12.00 h
Online
Admission free
In English + simultaneous translation into German + DGS + English audio description + english subtitles

In a global political climate that seems more polarised and divided than ever, artist, writer and activist Jess Thom and curator and researcher Noa Winter discus the importance of creative intersectional collaboration and solidarity across borders. The conversation will be open and inclusive, taking a relaxed approach and welcoming input from all. Having met each other previously at several key events, this is the first time that Jess and Noa will get to discuss the ideas that they care passionately about.

“Traveling internationally helped me appreciate how local systems and structures can impact on disabled people’s experiences and expectations. Making opportunities to discuss Disability Culture and Justice in a more global context feels exciting and essential.”

NOTICE To participate, you must download the Zoom software and agree to its privacy policy.

ACCESSIBILITY INFORMATION
Jess Thom and Noa Winter’s conversation takes place online in English spoken language with English audiodescription. There are English subtitles and a translation into German Sign Language by Oya Ataman. The conversation will go on for 60 minutes, followed by a 30-minute-long Q&A. The conversation is as relaxed as your home environment: Make yourself comfortable and adjust the sound volume and light level on your computer to your needs. If you want, you can turn on and off during the show, retreat to another room for a break or simply close your laptop. Silence is, of course, not obligatory. The information on accessibility is continuously updated. If you have any questions or require further information, please contact Gina Jeske: or 030 29 87 00 35.

JESS THOM is co-founder of Touretteshero and may or may not lead a secret double life as a superhero. Artist, playworker, and expert fundraiser, Jess currently helps coordinate a large play project in South London. Jess has had tics since she was a child but wasn’t diagnosed with Tourettes until she was in her twenties. With some encouragement from her friends, Jess decided to turn her tics into a source of imaginative creativity and the Touretteshero project was born.

NOA WINTER is a curator and dramaturg with a focus on disability arts and accessibility. They are currently working as a coordinator for the Berlin-based project Making a Difference, which supports disabled and deaf dance professionals. Their main interests are the self-determined working methods of disabled, queer and chronically ill artists, aesthetics of access and questions of antiableist curating. Most recently they co-curated the symposia Making Theatre Accessible – Be prepared to make mistakes and Exploded Times, Mad Spaces – Disability Arts & Crip Spacetime.

WITH Jess Thom and Noa Winter simultaneous translation into German Barbara Kagon, Jil Richter DGS TRANSLATION Oya Ataman, Katharina Cordts english subtitles Veerle Haverhals

Realised with funds from the Capital Cultural Fund. Media partner: taz. die tageszeitung.

Jess Thom
Biscuits Without Borders: An Open Conversation
Gespräch
Oktober 27 | 12.00 Uhr
Online
Eintritt frei
AUF ENGLISCH + SIMULTANÜBERSETZUNG INS DEUTSCHE + DGS + ENGLISCHE AUDIODESKRIPTION + ENGLISCHE UNTERTITEL

In einem globalen politischen Klima, das mehr denn je polarisiert und gespalten ist, diskutieren die Künstlerin, Schriftstellerin und Aktivistin Jess Thom und die Kurator*in und Forscher*in Noa Winter über die Bedeutung von kreativer, intersektionaler Zusammenarbeit und grenzüberschreitender Solidarität. Das Gespräch wird offen und inklusiv in relaxter Atmosphäre stattfinden, Beiträge aller Art sind herzlich willkommen. Nachdem sich Jess und Noa bereits bei mehreren Disability Arts-Veranstaltungen getroffen haben, diskutieren sie nun zum ersten Mal die Ideen, die ihnen besonders am Herzen liegen.

“Traveling internationally helped me appreciate how local systems and structures can impact on disabled people’s experiences and expectations. Making opportunities to discuss Disability Culture and Justice in a more global context feels exciting and essential.” Jess Thom

Hinweis Für die Teilnahme muss die Software Zoom heruntergeladen und deren Datenschutzerklärung zugestimmt werden.

Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit
Jess Thoms und Noa Winters Gespräch findet online in englischer Lautsprache mit englischer Audiodeskription statt. Außerdem gibt es englische Untertitel und eine DGS-Dolmetschung von Oya Ataman. Das Gespräch dauert 60 Minuten und das Q&A im Anschluss 30 Minuten. Das Gespräch ist so relaxed wie euer heimisches Drumherum: Macht es euch gemütlich und passt die Lautstärke und Helligkeit auf eurem Rechner euren Wünschen entsprechend an. Wer möchte, kann während der Show on und off gehen, sich für eine Pause in ein anderes Zimmer zurückziehen oder auch einfach den Laptop zuklappen. Stille ist natürlich nicht obligatorisch. Die Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit werden laufend ergänzt. Bei Fragen oder für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an Gina Jeske: oder 030 29 87 00 35.

JESS THOM ist Mitbegründerin von Touretteshero und führt möglicherweise ein geheimes Doppelleben als Superheldin. Als Künstlerin, Theatermacherin und erfahrene Fundraiserin unterstützt Jess derzeit ein großes Theaterprojekt in Südlondon. Jess hat seit ihrer Kindheit Ticks, erst im Alter von 20 Jahren wurde bei ihr jedoch Tourettes diagnostiziert. Von ihren Freund*innen ermutigt,  beschloss Jess, ihre Ticks in eine Quelle phantasievoller Kreativität zu verwandeln – und das Touretteshero-Projekt war geboren.

NOA WINTER ist Kurator*in und Dramaturg*in mit den Schwerpunkten Disability Arts und Barrierefreieheit. Aktuell arbeitet sie als Koordinator*in für das Berliner Projekt Making a Difference, das behinderte und taube Tanzschaffende fördert. Im Zentrum ihres Interesses stehen die selbstbestimmten Arbeitsweisen behinderter, queerer und chronisch kranker Künstler*innen, Aesthetics of Access sowie Fragen des antiableistischen Kuratierens. Zuletzt ko-kuratierte sie die Symposien Theater barrierefrei gestalten – Be prepared to make mistakes und Explodierende Zeiten, ver_rückte Räume – Disability Arts & Crip Spacetime.

MIT Jess Thom und Noa Winter Simultanübersetzung ins Deutsche Barbara Kagon, Jil Richter DGS DOLMETSCHER*INNEN Oya Ataman, Katharina Cordts ENGLISCHE UNTERTITEL Veerle Haverhals

Ermöglicht aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds. Medienpartner: taz. die tageszeitung.