Olivia Hyunsin Kim / ddanddarakim
In Walking Distance – In Company
Walks
October 19 | 14.30 + 15.30 + 17.00 + 18.00 h
October 20 | 14.30 + 15.30 + 17.00 + 18.00 h
Outdoors
Start: Sophiensæle courtyard
10
/
7
Euro
In English, German or Korean

Starting from the historical building of the former craftsman’s association in which the Sophiensaele are located, tour guide and hostess Olivia Hyunsin Kim takes their one-person-audience on a performative journey: In a relaxed setting, she evokes characters and scenes from an alternative past that – multifaceted as it is – might just as well have happened.

In times of a pandemic, joint walks are very high in popularity. For weeks in spring, they were the only way to experience the public together. At the same time, distance and fresh air keep the risk of infection as low as possible. And yet every encounter also involves risks. It can create understanding, warmth and intimacy, but sometimes also incomprehension and conflict. Encounters can lead to both closeness and distance.

During the festival, we invite artists and audiences to encounter each other on 1:1 walks, thus offering all those who are not yet drawn back to the theatre spaces with the opportunity for an immediate exchange. What drives us? In times of physical distancing, the dialogue with an unknown opens new perspectives on our relationships.

NOTICE The walks take place as one-to-one encounters between artist and spectator. If the minimum distance of 1.5 meters cannot be kept, a face mask is obligatory.

ACCESSIBILITY INFORMATION
The walk takes about 30 minutes and includes several sitting breaks. The route is 350 meters long. The road is paved and uneven in some places and at one point you walk on a lawn for a short while. You will pass a gate that is about 1 meter wide. It is possible to choose between German, English or Korean spoken language. If the minimum distance of 1.5 meters cannot be kept, a face mask is obligatory. If you have any questions or require further information, please contact Gina Jeske at or 030 27 89 00 35.

OLIVIA HYUNSIN KIM graduated with distinction from the Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft Gießen and the HfMDK Frankfurt with a master’s degree in choreography and performance. As ddanddarakim she collaborates with various artists. Her MeMe series she came, she saw, she said:meme (part 1), MeMe – I see. Ah! (Part 2) and Miss Yellow and Me – I wanna be a musical (Part 3) toured internationally and dealt with exoticism in relation to non-white, “other” bodies. At Sophiensæle she showed most recently her performance Yellow Banana (2019). She has received scholarships from the DAAD, the Berlin Senate, the Rebecca Skelton Fund, Erasmus and the Seoul National University.

WITH Olivia Hyunsin Kim

In Walking Distance is made possible with the support of the Capital Cultural Fund. Media partner: taz. die tageszeitung.

Olivia Hyunsin Kim / ddanddarakim
In Walking Distance – In Company
Spaziergänge
Oktober 19 | 14.30 + 15.30 + 17.00 + 18.00 Uhr
Oktober 20 | 14.30 + 15.30 + 17.00 + 18.00 Uhr
Draussen
Start: Im Hof der Sophiensæle
10
/
7
Euro
Auf Deutsch, Englisch oder Koreanisch

Ausgehend vom historischen Handwerkervereinshaus, in dem sich die Sophiensæle befinden, führt Olivia Hyunsin Kim als Tourguide und Gastgeberin auf eine performative Reise: Im entspannten Miteinander evoziert sie für ihren Gast Figuren und Szenen einer alternativen Geschichte, die in all ihrem Facettenreichtum genauso hätte passieren können.

In Zeiten der Pandemie stehen gemeinsame Spaziergänge hoch im Kurs. Über Wochen im Frühjahr waren sie die einzige Möglichkeit der gemeinsamen Erfahrung von Öffentlichkeit. Dabei halten Abstand und frische Luft das Ansteckungsrisiko so gering wie möglich. Und doch birgt jede Begegnung auch Risiken. Sie kann Verständnis, Wärme und Intimität, manchmal jedoch auch Unverständnis und Auseinandersetzung mit sich bringen. Aus Begegnungen kann Nähe oder Distanz entstehen.

Während des Festivals laden wir Künstler*innen und Publikum zu Begegnungen bei 1:1 Spaziergängen ein und bieten damit all jenen, die es noch nicht wieder in die Theaterräume zieht, die Möglichkeit eines unmittelbaren Austauschs. Was treibt uns um? In Zeiten des physical distancing eröffnet der Dialog mit eine*r Unbekannten neue Perspektiven auf unsere Beziehungen.

Hinweis Die Spaziergänge finden in Eins-zu-Eins-Begegnungen zwischen Künstler*in und Zuschauer*in statt. Sofern der Mindestabstand von 1,5 Metern nicht eingehalten werden kann, muss eine Mund-Nasenbedeckung getragen werden.

Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit
Der Spaziergang dauert ca. 30 Minuten und die Route ist ca. 350 Meter lang. Es gibt mehrere Sitzpausen. Der Straßenbelag ist an einigen Stellen gepflastert und ungleichmäßig, an einer Stelle betritt man eine Wiese. Es wird ein Tor passiert, das ca. 1 Meter breit ist. Es kann zwischen deutscher, englischer und koreanischer Lautsprache gewählt werden. Sofern der Mindestabstand von 1,5 Metern nicht eingehalten werden kann, muss eine Mund-Nasenbedeckung getragen werden. Bei Fragen oder für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an Gina Jeske unter oder 030 27 89 00 35.

OLIVIA HYUNSIN KIM schloss ihren Master in Choreografie und Performance am Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft Gießen und der HfMDK Frankfurt mit Auszeichnung ab. Als ddanddarakim arbeitet sie mit verschiedenen Künstler_innen kollaborativ zusammen. Ihre MeMe-Serie she came, she saw, she said:meme (Teil 1), MeMe – I see. Ah! (Teil 2) und Miss Yellow and Me –  I wanna be a musical (Teil 3) tourte international und beschäftigte sich mit dem Exotismus im Bezug auf nichtweiße, „andere” Körper“. In den Sophiensælen war sie zuletzt mit ihrem Stück Yellow Banana (2019) zu sehen. Sie erhielt u.a. Stipendien vom DAAD, dem Berliner Senat, dem Rebecca Skelton Fund, von Erasmus und der Seoul National University.

MIT Olivia Hyunsin Kim

In Walking Distance wird ermöglicht durch Mittel des Hauptstadtkulturfonds. Medienpartner: taz. die tageszeitung.