Olympia Bukkakis
A Touch Of The Other
Drag | Performance | Dance
October 08 | 20.00 h
October 09 | 20.00 h
October 10 | 20.00 h
Premiere
Hochzeitssaal
15
/
10
Euro
In English

With lipsync, dance, video and storytelling, the drag legend and self-proclaimed Queen of the Heavens and of the Earth, Olympia Bukkakis tackles the question of the role of trans identities and drag practices in the current feminist discourse. For this, she ventures to fall back on her own family history: for it is not only for Bukkakis that the external assessment of her body, which was assigned male at birth, has had a profound influence on her existence in the world. Because of the female ascriptions to her body, Olympia Bukkakis’ mother and her five sisters carry out feminised labour – professions traditionally occupied by women and less valued by society. It is precisely in the example of feminised labour and its lower social esteem that Bukkakis finds interfaces to her own work as a drag performer: in the form of shared vulnerabilities, strengths and resilience strategies. In this way she creates a space for recognition and new ties of feminist solidarity beyond fixed gender, sex and generational boundaries.

NOTICE Please note that stroboscopic effects are used in this performance.

ACCESSIBILITY INFORMATION
The show has a duration of 60 minutes and uses English spoken language. The stage area is very brightly lit and the show uses stroboscope lightning as well as fog. Loud music is not planned so far. Silence is not mandatory, but the audience is kindly requested not to leave the room during the show. The performance deals with traumas. The information on accessibility will be continuously updated. If you have any questions or require further information, please contact Gina Jeske at  or 030 29 87 00 35.

OLYMPIA BUKKAKIS is a drag and dance artist. In 2009 she started to perform in Melbourne, Australia. Since moving to Berlin in 2012, she has organised various queer performance nights in Berlin, including Get Fucked, Apocalypse Tonight and Queens Against Borders. In 2018, she completed the SODA Master’s degree at HZT with her piece Tales From a State of Shemergency. Her piece Gender Euphoria celebrated its premiere at the Sophiensæle within the Tanztage Berlin 2019. Most recently she showed: Work on Progress (HAU), Under Pressures (Gessnerallee, Zurich) and Boys Night Out (Abbotsford Convent, Melbourne).

CONCEPT, PERFORMANCE, CHOREOGRAPHY Olympia Bukkakis DRAMATURGY Allison Wiltshire STAGE DESIGN Camille Lacadee LIGHT Maika Knoblich SOUND Lyra Pramuk COSTUMES Jay Barry Matthews PRODUCTION Lisa Gehring PRODUCTION ASSISTANT Paul Niedermeyer

A production by Olympia Bukkakis in co-production with SOPHIENSÆLE. Funded by the Capital Cultural Fund. Media partner: taz. die tageszeitung.

Olympia Bukkakis
A Touch Of The Other
Drag | Performance | Tanz
Oktober 08 | 20.00 Uhr
Oktober 09 | 20.00 Uhr
Oktober 10 | 20.00 Uhr
Premiere
Hochzeitssaal
15
/
10
Euro
Auf Englisch

Die Drag-Legende und selbsternannte Queen of the Heavens and of the Earth Olympia Bukkakis rückt mit Lipsync, Tanz, Video und Storytelling der Frage auf den Leib, welchen Platz der aktuelle Feminismus-Diskurs Transidentitäten und Drag-Praktiken einräumt. Dafür wagt sie den Rückgriff auf ihre eigene Familiengeschichte: Denn nicht nur für Bukkakis hatte die externe Beurteilung ihres Körpers, der bei der Geburt männlich bestimmt wurde, einen tiefgreifenden Einfluss auf ihre Existenz in der Welt. Ihre Mutter und deren fünf Schwestern üben aufgrund der weiblichen Zuschreibungen auf ihre Körper feminisierte Arbeit aus – also Berufe, in denen traditionell vermehrt Frauen tätig sind und die eine geringere gesellschaftliche Wertschätzung erfahren. Gerade am Beispiel von feminisierter Arbeit und ihrer geringeren gesellschaftlichen Wertschätzung findet Bukkakis Schnittstellen zu ihrer eigenen Arbeit als Dragperformerin: in Form von geteilten Verletzlichkeiten, Stärken und Resilienzstrategien. So schafft sie in ihrer Performance einen Raum für Anerkennung und neue Bande feministischer Solidarität abseits von fixen Geschlecht-, Gender-, und Generationsgrenzen.

HINWEIS Wir weisen darauf hin, dass in dieser Vorstellung Stroboskopeffekte genutzt werden?

Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit
Die Show dauert 60 Minuten und verwendet englische Lautsprache. Der Bühnenraum ist sehr hell beleuchtet und es werden Nebel und Stroboskoplicht eingesetzt. Laute Musik ist bisher nicht geplant. Stille im Publikum ist nicht obligatorisch, das Verlassen des Raumes während der Show ist allerdings nicht gewünscht. Die Performance thematisiert Traumata. Die Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit werden laufend ergänzt. Bei Fragen oder für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an Gina Jeske unter oder 030 29 87 00 35.

OLYMPIA BUKKAKIS ist eine Drag- und Tanzkünstlerin. 2009 begann sie, mit ihren Performances in Melbourne, Australien, aufzutreten. Seit ihrem Umzug im Jahr 2012 organisiert sie in Berlin verschiedene queere Performancenächte, darunter Get Fucked, Apocalypse Tonight und Queens Against Borders. Im Jahr 2018 schloss sie den SODA-Master am HZT mit ihrem Stück Tales From a State of Shemergency ab. Ihr Stück Gender Euphoria feierte innerhalb der Tanztage Berlin 2019 an den Sophiensælen Premiere. Zuletzt zeigte sie: Work on Progress (HAU), Under Pressures (Gessnerallee, Zürich) und Boys Night Out (Abbotsford Convent, Melbourne).

KONZEPT, PERFORMANCE, CHOREOGRAFIE Olympia Bukkakis DRAMATURGIE Allison Wiltshire BÜHNENBILD Camille Lacadee LICHT Maika Knoblich TON Lyra Pramuk KOSTÜM Jay Barry Matthews PRODUKTION Lisa Gehring PRODUKTIONSASSISTENZ Paul Niedermeyer

Eine Produktion von Olympia Bukkakis in Koproduktion mit SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds. Medienpartner: taz. die tageszeitung.