Flinn Works
Learning Feminism From Rwanda
Performance
October 29 | 21.00 h
October 30 | 21.00 h
October 31 | 21.00 h
November 01 | 18.00 h
Premiere
Hochzeitssaal
15
/
10
Euro
In English, German and Kinyarwanda
With German subtitles

Taking Rwanda as an example, Flinn Works consider the women’s quota as a political instrument: with 61% female members of parliament, Rwanda has almost twice as many women in parliament as Germany and in this respect has long since achieved what women throughout Europe are still fighting for. After the genocide in 1994, the East African country made gender justice the basis of its policy – in Germany, parity is still far away despite the basis in the constitution. On the trail of Rwandan fast-track feminism, Flinn Works lead through shiny statistics and glass ceilings behind the scenes of home and hearth. A Rwandan drum on stage is the key to power. It was formerly only played for the king, now six performers play for the queen. For Merkel. For parity. With flaming speeches, statistics, lamentations and protest choreographies they perform for the poor Europe, which is struggling for meagre quotas, while Rwandan pilots fly drones with blood bottles across the country and digital data rush to the smartphones of female members of parliament. How does the women’s quota change culture and mindset?

NOTICE Due to Covid-19, two performers will appear live on stage and four will perform on video.

Accessibility information
The show lasts 75 minutes without a break and is performed in English, German and Kinyarwandic spoken language. There are partly German subtitles and partly live spoken translations from English and Kinyaruanda into German spoken language. In one scene there are fast light changes, loud music and noises, which are also reflected in relatively fast images on the screen. There is verbal interaction with the audience. If you need to leave the room during the show, re-entrance is not possible. The information on accessibility will be continuously updated. If you have any questions or require further information, please contact or 030 27 89 00 35.

FLINN WORKS has been working on current issues of the globalised world with feminist and post-colonial questions since 2009. The pieces are based on intensive research and use the political and aesthetic attitudes of the international performers for a multi-perspective dramaturgy. At the SOPHIENSÆLE they recently showed Fear + Fever (2019) together with Asedeva, Kosa la Vita – Kriegsverbrechen (2018) and Global Belly (2017). flinnworks.de

Artistic directION Lisa Stepf, Sophia Stepf BY AND WITH Yvette Niyomufasha, Natasha Muziramakenga, Wesley Ruzibiza, Nirere Shanel, Lisa Stepf/Cornelia Dörr DIRECTOR Sophia Stepf VIDEO DESIGN, SCENOGRAPHY Marc Jungreithmeier SET Büro unbekannt Berlin CHOREOGRAPHY Wesley Ruzibiza COMPOSITION Andi Otto COSTUMES Tatjana Kautsch in collaboration with Cédric Mizero, Maximilian Muhawenimana, Afriek, Ibaba Rwanda and Louise Mutabazi RECORDINGS INANGA Sophia Nzayisenga VIDEO Rwanda Kivu Ruhorahoza LIGHT DESIGN, TECHNICAL DIRECTOR Susana Alonso Assistant Director Annekatrin Utke PRODUCTION RWANDA, DRAMATURGY Louise Mutabazi PRODUCTION, COMPANY MANAGEMENT Gustavo Fijalkow

A production by Flinn Works in cooperation with EANT Festival/Amizero Kompagnie and in co-production with SOPHIENSÆLE, Theater Freiburg, Goethe-Institut Kigali, Kaserne Basel, HELLERAU – European Centre for the Arts, Maillon Théâtre de Strasbourg – scène européenne. In cooperation with Staatstheater Kassel, Theater Tuchlaube Aarau and FFT Düsseldorf. Supported by the Capital Cultural Fund, the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, the Cultural Office of the City of Kassel, the Gerhard-Fieseler-Stiftung and Between Bridges. With thanks to the Theaterhaus Mitte. Media partner: taz. die tageszeitung.

Flinn Works
Learning Feminism From Rwanda
Performance
Oktober 29 | 21.00 Uhr
Oktober 30 | 21.00 Uhr
Oktober 31 | 21.00 Uhr
November 01 | 18.00 Uhr
Premiere
Hochzeitssaal
15
/
10
Euro
Auf Deutsch, Englisch und Kinyarwanda
Mit deutschen Untertiteln

Am Beispiel von Ruanda betrachten Flinn Works die Frauen-Quote als politisches Instrument: Mit 61% weiblichen Abgeordneten hat Ruanda fast doppelt so viele Frauen im Parlament wie Deutschland und in dieser Hinsicht längst erreicht, wofür Frauen in ganz Europa noch immer kämpfen. Das ostafrikanische Land hat nach dem Genozid 1994 die Geschlechtergerechtigkeit zur Basis seiner Politik gemacht – in Deutschland ist Parität trotz Basis im Grundgesetz noch fern. Auf der Spur des ruandischen Fast-Track-Feminismus führen Flinn Works durch glänzende Statistiken und gläserne Decken bis hinter die Kulissen von Heim und Herd. Eine ruandische Trommel auf der Bühne ist der Schlüssel zur Macht. Sie wurde früher nur für den König gespielt, jetzt spielen sechs Performer*innen für die Königin. Für Merkel. Für Parität. Mit flammenden Reden, Statistiken, Klageliedern und Protestchoreografien performen sie für das arme Europa, das um magere Quoten ringt, während ruandische Pilot*innen Blutkonserven mit Drohnen durchs Land fliegen und digitale Daten zu den Smartphones weiblicher Abgeordneter rasen. Wie verändert die Frauen-Quote Kultur und Geisteshaltung?

Hinweis Aufgrund von Covid-19 werden zwei Performer*innen live und vier per Video auftreten.

Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit
Die Show dauert 75 Minuten ohne Pause und findet in englischer, deutscher und kinyarwandischer Lautsprache statt. Es gibt teilweise deutsche Untertitel und teilweise live gesprochene Übersetzungen vom Englischen und Kinyaruanda in deutsche Lautsprache. Die Lichtsituation ist eher hell, es wird Musik gespielt. In einer Szene kommen schnelle Lichtwechsel, laute Musik und Störgeräusche vor, die sich auch in relativ schnellen Bildern auf der Leinwand widerspiegeln. Es gibt verbale Interaktionen mit dem Publikum. Nach Verlassen des Raumes während der Show ist ein Wiedereinlass nicht mehr möglich. Die Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit werden laufend ergänzt. Bei Fragen oder für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an Gina Jeske unter  oder 030 27 89 00 35.

FLINN WORKS arbeitet seit 2009 an aktuellen Themen der globalisierten Welt mit feministischen und postkolonialen Fragestellungen. Die Stücke basieren auf intensiver Recherche und nutzen die politischen und ästhetischen Haltungen der internationalen Performer*innen für eine multiperspektivische Dramaturgie. An den SOPHIENSÆLEN zeigten sie zuletzt Fear + Fever (2019) gemeinsam mit Asedeva, Kosa la Vita – Kriegsverbrechen (2018) und Global Belly (2017). flinnworks.de

KÜNSTLERISCHE LEITUNG Lisa Stepf, Sophia Stepf VON UND MIT Yvette Niyomufasha, Natasha Muziramakenga, Wesley Ruzibiza, Nirere Shanel, Lisa Stepf/Cornelia Dörr REGIE Sophia Stepf VIDEODESIGN, SZENOGRAFIE Marc Jungreithmeier SETBAU Büro unbekannt Berlin CHOREOGRAFIE Wesley Ruzibiza KOMPOSITION Andi Otto KOSTÜM Tatjana Kautsch in Zusammenarbeit mit Cédric Mizero, Maximilian Muhawenimana, Afriek, Ibaba Rwanda und Louise Mutabazi EINSPIELUNGEN INANGA Sophia Nzayisenga VIDEO RUANDA Kivu Ruhorahoza LICHTDESIGN, TECHNISCHE LEITUNG Susana Alonso REGIEASSISTENZ Annekatrin Utke PRODUKTION RUANDA, DRAMATURGIE Louise Mutabazi PRODUKTIONSLEITUNG, KOMPANIEMANAGEMENT Gustavo Fijalkow

Eine Produktion von Flinn Works in Kooperation mit EANT Festival/Amizero Kompagnie und in Koproduktion mit SOPHIENSÆLE, Theater Freiburg, Goethe-Institut Kigali, Kaserne Basel, HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste, Maillon Théâtre de Strasbourg – scène européenne. In Kooperation mit Staatstheater Kassel, Theater Tuchlaube Aarau und FFT Düsseldorf. Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds, die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, das Kulturamt der Stadt Kassel, die Gerhard-Fieseler-Stiftung und Between Bridges. Mit Dank an das Theaterhaus Mitte. Medienpartner: taz. die tageszeitung.