Maria Do Mar Castro Varela
Zweifeln erlernen – Egoismus verlernen
Lecture
October 17 | 19.00 h
Festsaal | Online
5 € | LIVESTREAM FREE
In German

Pandemics are a tough business. That people deal with them in very different ways can already be read in Albert Camus’ novel “The Plague” from 1947. Some deny, others try to help; some try to get out of the way and leave the locked city illegally; others pray and hope.

In Berlin 2020 tens of thousands take to the streets to protest against the government’s measures to contain the pandemic: Rightists, leftists, greens, yoga enthusiasts, anti-vaccination activists, esoterics, vegans … Some call for “storming the Reichstag”. Meanwhile, young people in Spain don’t want to be banned from partying and German professors write an open letter because they don’t want to teach another semester online. Often the word “freedom” is intoned and the narratives of the conspiracy are, hardly coincidentally, often anti-Semitic and racist. The question is here: “Freedom at the expense of who or what?”

“The plague” was a metaphor of Camus’, to make accusations against National Socialism. The actual COVID 19 pandemic today and the reactions to it raise concerns about whether democracy will withstand the “storm of indignation” from all sides. It is time for a second wave of re-education. What is solidarity? Why is a pandemic not about me and my particular desires? How can I counter my (justified) fears? And what does all this have to do with racism and anti-Semitism? In order to contain the madness, according to the thesis of María do Mar Castro Varela, doubt must be learned again.

Castro Varela, María do Mar (Prof. Dr.) is a graduate psychologist, graduate pedagogue and has a PhD in political science. Since 2007 she has been teaching at the Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin. Her research interests include Postcolonial Theory, Critical Migration Research, Critical Education Studies, Gender and Queer Studies and Trauma Studies. In 2015/16 she was Senior Fellow at the Institute for Human Science (IWM) in Vienna. She is founder and member of the bildungsLab* Berlin (www.bildungslab.net). Together with Aïcha Diallo she is producer and presenter of the radio series A Lover’s War.

WITH María do Mar Castro Varela

The lecture by María do Mar Castro Varela is funded by the Capital Cultural Fund. Media partner: taz. die tageszeitung

Maria Do Mar Castro Varela
Zweifeln erlernen – Egoismus verlernen
Lecture
Oktober 17 | 19.00 Uhr
Festsaal | Online
5 € | LIVESTREAM KOSTENFREI
Auf Deutsch

Pandemien haben es in sich. Dass Menschen auf sehr unterschiedliche Weise damit umgehen, können wir bereits in Albert Camus‘ Roman „Die Pest“ aus dem Jahre 1947 nachlesen. Die einen verleugnen, die anderen versuchen zu helfen; die einen versuchen, sich aus dem Staub zu machen und die verriegelte Stadt illegal zu verlassen; die anderen beten und hoffen.

In Berlin 2020 gehen Zehntausende auf die Straße, um gegen die Maßnahmen der Regierung zur Eindämmung der Pandemie zu protestieren: Rechte, Linke, Grüne, Yoga-Begeisterte, Impfgegner*innen, Esoteriker*innen, Veganer*innen … Einige rufen zum „Sturm auf den Reichstag“ auf. Währenddessen wollen sich junge Menschen in Spanien das Feiern nicht verbieten lassen und deutsche Professor*innen verfassen einen offenen Brief, weil sie nicht ein weiteres Semester online lehren wollen. Oft wird das Wort „Freiheit“ intoniert und die Narrative der Verschwörung sind kaum zufällig häufig antisemitisch und rassistisch. Es fragt sich hier: „Freiheit auf Kosten von wem oder was?“

„Die Pest“ war eine Metapher Camus‘, um Anklage gegen den Nationalsozialismus zu erheben. Die tatsächliche COVID-19-Pandemie heute und die Reaktionen darauf, lassen Sorge darüber aufkommen, ob die Demokratie dem „Sturm der Entrüstungen“ aus allen Seiten standhalten wird. Es ist Zeit für eine zweite Welle der Re-Education. Was ist Solidarität? Warum geht es bei einer Pandemie nicht um mich und meine partikularen Begehren? Wie kann ich meinen (berechtigten) Ängsten begegnen? Und was hat das alles mit Rassismus und Antisemitismus zu tun? Um den Wahnsinn einzudämmen, so die These von María do Mar Castro Varela, muss das Zweifeln wieder erlernt werden.

Castro Varela, María do Mar (Prof. Dr.) ist Diplom-Psychologin, Diplom-Pädagogin und promovierte Politikwissenschaftlerin. Seit 2007 lehrt sie an der Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin. Zu ihren Arbeitsschwerpunkten zählen die Postkoloniale Theorie, die Kritische Migrationsforschung, die Kritischen Bildungswissenschaften, Gender und Queer Studies und Trauma Studien. In 2015/16 war sie Senior Fellow am Institut für die Wissenschaft des Menschen (IWM) in Wien. Sie ist Gründerin und Mitglied des bildungsLab* Berlin (www.bildungslab.net). Gemeinsam mit Aïcha Diallo ist sie Produzentin und Moderatorin der Radioserie A Lover’s War.

MIT María do Mar Castro Varela

Der Vortrag von María do Mar Castro Varela wird ermöglicht durch Mittel des Hauptstadtkulturfonds. Medienpartner: taz. die tageszeitung.