Marjani Forté-Saunders + Meena Murugesan
Memoirs of a Unicorn: A Film (First Cut)
Online-Filmscreening
October 25 | 20.00 h
October 26 | 20.00 h
Online
Admission Free
In English

In her triple Bessie award-winning solo, choreographer and dancer Marjani Forté-Saunders pays tribute to the “unicorns” of her life and her community: formative figures such as father, son and brother, homies, pahtnas and fams. The choreography interweaves memories of her father – his mystical knowledge, his love for science fiction literature and his special ability to create realities – with collective memories and historical fragments. Inspired by writers such as James Baldwin, Octavia Butler and Toni Morrison, a performance about black identity, magic, resilience and political resistance.
Due to current travel restrictions, the performance unfortunately cannot be shown on stage as planned. Instead, Marjani Forté-Saunders and filmmaker and Bessie Award winner Meena Murugesan will offer the Sophiensæle audience a first pre-screening of the film Memoirs of a Unicorn: A Film (in progress, First Cut). This experimental collage of intimate encounters and experiences documents the piece’s three-year journey and at the same time offers an interpretation of the internal processes and dreams that lie at the core of this work and its team.

NOTICE The film screening will be followed by a discussion between Marjani Forté-Saunders, Meena Murugesan and Joy Kristin Kalu on the translation of the live performance into the medium of film and the presentation of vulnerable art in times of pandemic.

MARJANI FORTÉ-SAUNDERS is a Mother, choreographer, performer, and community organizer. She is a 2020 recipient of the Foundation of Contemporary Arts Grants for Artists Award and a 3x Bessie Award winner for Memoirs of a… Unicorn. Marjani collaborates with husband and composer Everett Asis Saunders as 7NMS|. Their new work, PROPHET,  exploring the journey of Hip Hop’s infamous Lyricist, will premiere at Abrons Arts Center 2021-22. She defines her work by its lineage stemming from culturally rich, vibrant, historic, loving, irreverent conjurers!

Meena Murugesan is an experimental choreographer, performer, video artist and arts educator. Meena often investigates the ways in which South Asian dance histories intersect with Eurocentric dance histories, and re-choreographs these post-colonial junctions through live performance, multi-media installations, and video art. Since 2014, Meena has been working through issues of Blackness and anti-Blackness in the South Asian diaspora in a three-part series of choreographies. Meena is currently based in Los Angeles and has worked with choreographers taisha paggett, Shyamala Moorty, Sheetal Gandhi, Laurel Tendindo, Emily Beattie, Alison D’Amato and Carol McDowell. Meena is a current member of the transnational Post Natyam Collective, and taisha pagget’s collective WXPT.

Film
Director, Media Designer Meena Murugesan Producer, choreographer, performer Marjani Forté-Saunders Producer, composer, sound designer Everett Saunders Drone, 2nd Camera D. Sabela Grimes Light Design Tuce Yasak STORYTELLING, STAGE DESIGN, CO-DESIGN Richard Forté Set Design Mimi Lien ASSISTANT SET DESIGN Peiyi Wong PRODUCTION MANAGER Santino Lo

Performance
CHOREOGRAPHY, PERFORMANCE Marjani Forté-Saunders COMPOSITION, SOUND DESIGN Everett Saunders MEDIA DESIGN Meena Murugesan LIGHT DESIGN Tuce Yasak STORYTELLING, STAGE DESIGN, CO-DESIGN Richard Forté SET DESIGN Mimi Lien, Peiyi Wong PRODUCTION MANAGEMENT Nathan Shreeve

A production by Marjani Forté-Saunders, funded by the PGF-USA Special Projects Grant, the MAP Fund, the Jerome Foundation and the Princess Grace Special Projects Award Commissioned by the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council Extended Life Residency together with New York Live Arts. With friendly support of the (MANCC) in partnership with the Urban Bush Women’s Choreographic Center Initiative. Media partner: taz. die tageszeitung.

Marjani Forté-Saunders + Meena Murugesan
Memoirs of a Unicorn: A Film (First Cut)
Online-Filmscreening
Oktober 25 | 20.00 Uhr
Oktober 26 | 20.00 Uhr
Online
Eintritt frei
Auf Englisch

In ihrem dreifach Bessie-prämierten Solo Memoirs of a… Unicorn zollt die Choreografin und Tänzerin Marjani Forté-Saunders den „Einhörnern“ ihres Lebens und ihrer Community Tribut: prägenden Figuren wie Vater, Sohn und Bruder, Homies, Pahtnas und Fams. Die Choreografie verwebt Erinnerungen an ihren Vater – sein mystisches Wissen, seine Liebe für Science-Fiction-Literatur und seine besondere Fähigkeit Realitäten zu schaffen – mit kollektiven Erinnerungen und historischen Fragmenten. Inspiriert von Autor*innen wie James Baldwin, Octavia Butler und Toni Morrison entfaltet sich eine Performance über Schwarze Identität, Magie, Resilienz und politische Widerstände, die sich bewusst einer einfachen Lesart entzieht.
Aufgrund der aktuellen Reisebeschränkungen kann das Stück leider nicht wie geplant auf der Bühne gezeigt werden. Stattdessen ermöglichen Marjani Forté-Saunders und Filmemacher*in und Bessie-Preisträger*in Meena Murugesan dem Sophiensæle-Publikum ein erstes Vorab-Screening des Films Memoirs of a Unicorn: A Film (in progress, First Cut). Die experimentelle Collage von intimen Begegnungen und Erfahrun-gen dokumentiert die dreijährige Reise des Stücks und bietet zugleich eine Interpre-tation der internen Prozesse und Träume, die den Kern dieser Arbeit und ihres Teams ausmachen.

Hinweis Im Anschluss an das Filmscreening folgt ein Gespräch zwischen Marjani Forté-Saunders, Meena Murugesan und Joy Kristin Kalu zur Übersetzung der Live-Performance in das Medium Film sowie zur Präsentation verletzlicher Kunst in Zeiten der Pandemie.

MARJANI FORTÉ-SAUNDERS ist Mutter, Künstlerin, Community Organizer und erst kürzlich für ihr neuestes Werk Memoirs of a… Unicorn gleich dreimal mit dem Bessie-Preis ausgezeichnete Choreografin und Performerin. Aus der beständigen Zusammenarbeit mit dem Komponisten Everett Asis Saunders (New Music USA Awardee) sind in den letzten zehn Jahren sieben preisgekrönte Projekte hervorgegangen. Marjani erhielt ein Stipendium des UBW Choreographic Center und ist zweifache Preisträgerin der Princess Grace Foundation. Ihre Arbeiten entstanden in Residenzen am Maggie Allesee National Choreographic Center (MANCC), dem Lower Manhattan Cultural Center Extended Life Residency, Brooklyn Arts Exchange, CUNY Dance Initiative und dem 651 Arts and Movement Research.

Meena Murugesan ist ein*e experimentelle Choreograf*in, Performer*in, Videokünstler*in und Kunstpädagog*in. Meena setzt sich häufig mit der Frage auseinander, wie sich südasiatische Tanzgeschichte mit eurozentrischen Tanzgeschichte überschneidet und choreografiert diese postkolonialen Knotenpunkte mit Live-Performance, Multimedia-Installationen und Videokunst neu. Seit 2014 arbeitet Meena an einer dreiteiligen Performance-Reihe zu den Themen Blackness und Anti-Blackness in der südasiatischen Diaspora. Zurzeit lebt Meena in Los Angeles und arbeitet u. a. mit Choreograf*innen taisha paggett, Shyamala Moorty, Sheetal Gandhi, Laurel Tendindo, Emily Beattie, Alison D’Amato und Carol McDowell. Meena ist Mitglied des transnationalen Post-Natyam-Kollektivs und des Kollektivs WXP. Als Mediengestalter*in arbeitet Meena u. a. mit d. Sabela grimes, Marjani Forte-Saunders und Embodiment Project.

Performance
CHOREOGRAFIE, PERFORMANCE
Marjani Forté-Saunders KOMPOSITION, SOUNDDESIGN Everett Saunders MEDIADESIGN Meena Murugesan LICHTDESIGN Tuce Yasak STORYTELLING, BÜHNENBILD, CO-DESIGN Richard Forté SETDESIGN Mimi Lien, Peiyi Wong PRODUKTIONSMANAGEMENT Nathan Shreeve

Film
REGISSEUR*IN, MEDIENGESTALTER*IN Meena Murugesan PRODUZENTIN, CHOREOGRAFIN, SCHAUSPIELERIN Marjani Forté-Saunders PRODUZENT, KOMPONIST UND SOUNDDESIGNER Everett Saunders DROHNE, 2. KAMERA D. Sabela Grimes LICHT-DESIGN Tuce Yasak SET-BUILDER, CO-DESIGN, GESCHICHTENERZÄHLER Rick Forté BÜHNENBILD Mimi-Lien ASSISTENZ BÜHNENBILD Peiyi Wong PRODUKTIONSLEITUNG Santino Lo

Eine Produktion von Marjani Forté-Saunders, gefördert vom PGF-USA Special Projects Grant, dem MAP Fund, der Jerome Foundation und des Princess Grace Special Projects Award. In Auftrag gegeben von der Lower Manhattan Cultural Council Extended Life Residency zusammen mit New York Live Arts. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des (MANCC) in Partnerschaft mit der Urban Bush Women’s Choreographic Center Initiative. Medienpartner: taz. die tageszeitung.