Teresa Vittucci, Michael Turinsky + Claire Vivianne Sobottke
We Bodies
Dance | Performance
October 30 | 18.00 h
October 31 | 18.00 h
Festsaal
15
/
10
Euro
Few/No Language

The central figure of We Bodies is the monster: it is neither animal nor human, neither man nor woman, neither natural nor artificial. It embodies multiplicity, is never entirely unambiguous and thus eludes the social practice of categorizing bodies. The three performers Vittucci, Sobottke and Turinsky also experience projections and phantasms on their bodies. For this reason, they create a series of exorcisms in which they distort pop-cultural figures and phenomena that have a particular influence on categories of “normal” or “beautiful”, into monstrousness. While the constructed idea of a natural order collapses, the possibility of reclaiming one’s own body opens up.

NOTICE Thanks to regular testing on SARS-CoV-2, the performance which dates from 2019 can be shown at the festival despite moments of physical closeness between the performers.

ACCESSIBILITY INFORMATION
The duration of the show is about 90 minutes. During the performance there are fast light changes and loud music. There is little to no talking in the piece. Silence in the audience is not mandatory. If you have any questions or require further information, please contact or 030 27 89 00 35.

TERESA VITTUCCI is a choreographer and performer. She graduated from the Conservatory in Vienna, the Ailey School, the Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance (SEAD) and received her MA at the Hochschule der Künste Bern. She collaborates with Nils A. Lange, Marie Caroline Hominal, Simone Aughterlony, Trajal Harrell and others. Teresa has received numerous scholarships and a recognition award from the city of Zurich. Her works U betta cryLunchtimeAll Eyes On and Hate me, Tender are toured nationally and internationally. At the SOPHIENSÆLE she was last seen with All Eyes On and Hate me, Tender at the SOPHIENSÆLE 2019 within the Queer Darlings 2019 focus. For Hate me, Tender she has been awarded the Swiss Dance Prize 2019. 2019-2020 Teresa Young is Associated Artist of the Tanzhaus Zürich. www.teresavittucci.com

MICHAEL TURINSKY lives and works as choreographer, performer and theorist in Vienna. His interest lies on the one hand in a thorough examination of the specific phenomenology of the body marked as “disabled”, its specific in-world-being, its relationship to temporality and rhythm, affect and affect production, gender and sexuality, visibility and opacity; and on the other hand in a rigorous examination of discourses around the productive tension between politics and aesthetics. As a performer he has collaborated with Bert Gstettner, Barbara Kraus, Legitimate Bodies/Robin Dingemans/Mick Bryson and Doris Uhlich, among others. His choreographic works include Heteronomous male, My body, your pleasure, Second Skin – Turn the beat around, Second Skin – Master of Ceremony, REVERBERATIONS. His collaboration with Doris Uhlich Ravemachine was awarded the Nestroy Special Prize in 2017. www.michaelturinsky.org

CLAIRE VIVIANNE SOBOTTKE understands her work as a place of resistance, which allows us to change norms of thinking and seeing. In 2017 she was awarded by the magazine Tanz as “Hoffnungsträgerin des Tanzes” and received the Fm4 Award of the Vienna ImPulsTanz Festival for her solo strange songs. In 2017 she initiated and curated Amazonas, an interdisciplinary platform for the support and networking of young female artists in Berlin, at the SOPHIENSÆLE. Claire Vivianne Sobottke teaches in various contexts, among others at the PACT Zollverein in Essen, HZT Berlin, the ImPulsTanz Festival in Vienna and at the University of the Arts Helsinki. At the SOPHIENSÆLE she recently performed Golden Game (2014) together with Tian Rotteveel, in the woods (2016) as part of the Witch Dance Project and together with Sheena McGrandles Bounty (2017).

TIAN ROTTEVEEL is a composer, choreographer and performer. He studied music composition at the Koninklijk Conservatorium Den Haag (NL), dance at SEAD (AU) and choreography at HZT Berlin. Particularly interested in hybrids of dance and music, he combines movement and sound as equal art forms. As a composer he has created commissioned works for e.g. the MAE Ensemble, Rosa Ensemble and the RIO Ensemble. With his solo Soulsqueezing (2012) he attracted attention in the dance scene for the first time. He has worked with Jeanine Durning, David Zambrano, Jeremy Wade, Tino Sehgal, Martin Nachbar and Hermann Heisig, among others, and teaches with dance companies such as Meg Stuart/ Damaged Goods, at dance schools and at festivals. At the SOPHIENSÆLEN he recently showed his choreographies Soulqueezing (2012), Golden Game (2015) and Heartcore (2016).

CHOREOGRAPHY, PERFORMANCE Teresa Vittucci, Michael Turinsky, Claire Vivianne Sobottke MUSIC Tian Rotteveel SZENOGRAPHY Anna Wohlgemuth, Lilli Unger TECHNICAL DIRECTOR, LIGHT Lukas Sander ARTISTIC CONTRIBUTION, OUTSIDE EYE Sheena McGrandles OUTSIDE EYE Marcel Bugiel, Rafał Pierzyński PRODUCTION groundworkers / Kira Koplin

A co-production of OH DEAR and the Association for Philosophical Practice, with the Tanzhaus Zürich, the Kaserne Basel and the Arsenic Lausanne. In cooperation with the Wildwuchs Festival and the WUK Performing Arts, Vienna. Supported by Pro Helvetia, Stadt Zürich Kultur, Department of Culture Canton Zurich, City of Vienna and Migros Culture Percentage. With many thanks to ImpulsTanz Festival, Flausen and Young artists in residency / theaterlabor Bielefeld. The guest performance is funded by the Capital Cutural Fund. Media partner: taz. die tageszeitung.

Teresa Vittucci, Michael Turinsky + Claire Vivianne Sobottke
We Bodies
Tanz | Performance
Oktober 30 | 18.00 Uhr
Oktober 31 | 18.00 Uhr
Festsaal
15
/
10
Euro
Wenig bis keine Sprache

Die zentrale Figur von We Bodies ist das Monster: Es ist weder Tier noch Mensch, weder Mann noch Frau, weder natürlich noch künstlich. Es verkörpert Vielheit, ist nie ganz eindeutig und entzieht sich dadurch der gesellschaftlichen Praxis, Körper zu kategorisieren. Projektionen und Phantasmen auf ihre Körper erleben auch die drei Performer*innen Vittucci, Sobottke und Turinsky. Deshalb entwerfen sie eine Serie von Exorzismen, in denen sie popkulturelle Figuren und Phänomene, die besonderen Einfluss auf Kategorien von „normal“ oder „schön“ haben, ins Monströse verzerren. Während die konstruierte Idee einer natürlichen Ordnung in sich zusammenfällt, eröffnet sich die Möglichkeit, sich den eigenen Körper wiederanzueignen.

Hinweis Dank engmaschiger Tests auf SARS-CoV-2 kann das Gastspiel der 2019 entstandenen Produktion trotz Momenten physischer Nähe zwischen den Performer*innen auf der Bühne im Festival gezeigt werden.

Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit
Das Stück dauert etwa 90 Minuten. Während der Performance gibt es schnelle Lichtwechsel und laute Musik. Im Stück wird kaum bis gar nicht gesprochen. Stille im Publikum ist nicht obligatorisch. Bei Fragen oder für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an oder 030 27 89 00 35.

TERESA VITTUCCI ist Choreografin und Performerin. Sie absolvierte das Konservatorium in Wien, die Ailey School, die Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance (SEAD) und machte ihren MA an der Hochschule der Künste Bern. Sie kollaboriert u.a. mit Nils A. Lange, Marie Caroline Hominal, Simone Aughterlony und Trajal Harrell. Teresa erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien sowie einen Anerkennungspreis der Stadt Zürich. Ihre Arbeiten U betta cry, Lunchtime, All Eyes On und Hate me, Tender werden national und international getourt. An den SOPHIENSÆLEN war sie innerhalb des Schwerpunktes Queer Darlings 2019 zuletzt mit All Eyes On und Hate me, Tender zu sehen. Für Hate me, Tender ist ihr 2019 der Schweizer Tanzpreis verliehen worden. 2019-2020 ist Teresa Young Associated Artist des Tanzhaus Zürich. www.teresavittucci.com

MICHAEL TURINSKY lebt und arbeitet als Choreograf, Performer und Theoretiker in Wien. Sein Interesse gilt zum einen der eingehenden Auseinandersetzung mit der spezifischen Phänomenologie des als „behindert“ markierten Körpers, dessen spezifischen In-der-Welt-seins, dessen Verhältnis zu Zeitlichkeit und Rhythmus, Affekt und Affektproduktion, Geschlecht und Sexualität, Sichtbarkeit und Undurchsichtigkeit; und zum anderen der rigorosen Auseinandersetzung mit Diskursen rund um die produktive Spannung zwischen Politik und Ästhetik. Als Performer kollaborierte er u.a. mit Bert Gstettner, Barbara Kraus, Legitimate Bodies/Robin Dingemans/Mick Bryson und Doris Uhlich. Zu seinen choreografischen Arbeiten zählen Heteronomous male, My body, your pleasure, Second Skin – Turn the beat around, Second Skin – Master of Ceremony, REVERBERATIONS. Seine Kollaboration Ravemachine mit Doris Uhlich erhielt 2017 den Nestroy-Spezialpreis. www.michaelturinsky.org

CLAIRE VIVIANNE SOBOTTKE versteht ihre Arbeit als Ort des Widerstands, der es erlaubt, Normen des Denkens und Sehens zu verändern. 2017 wurde sie von der Zeitschrift Tanz als „Hoffnungsträgerin des Tanzes“ ausgezeichnet und erhielt für ihr Solo strange songs den Fm4 Award des Wiener ImPulsTanz Festivals. 2017 initiierte und kuratierte sie an den SOPHIENSÆLEN Amazonas, eine interdisziplinäre Plattform zur Unterstützung und Vernetzung junger Berliner Künstlerinnen. Claire Vivianne Sobottke unterrichtet in verschiedenen Kontexten, unter anderem am PACT Zollverein in Essen, HZT Berlin, beim ImPulsTanz Festival in Wien und an der University of the Arts Helsinki. An den SOPHIENSÆLEN zeigte sie zuletzt gemeinsam mit Tian Rotteveel Golden Game (2014), in the woods (2016) im Rahmen des Witch Dance Project und gemeinsam mit Sheena McGrandles Bounty (2017).

TIAN ROTTEVEEL ist Komponist, Choreograf und Performer. Er studierte Musikkomposition am Koninklijk Conservatorium Den Haag (NL), Tanz an der SEAD (AU) und Choreografie am HZT Berlin. Besonders interessiert an Hybriden von Tanz und Musik, verknüpft er Bewegung und Sound als gleichwertige Kunstformen. Als Komponist schuf er Auftragswerke für z.B. das MAE Ensemble, Rosa Ensemble und das RIO Ensemble. Mit seinem Solo Soulsqueezing (2012) fand er erstmals in der Tanzszene Beachtung. Er arbeitete u.a. mit Jeanine Durning, David Zambrano, Jeremy Wade, Tino Sehgal, Martin Nachbar und Hermann Heisig und unterrichtet bei Tanzkompanien wie Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods, an Ausbildungsstätten für Tanz und auf Festivals. In den SOPHIENSÆLEN zeigte er zuletzt seine Choreografien Soulqueezing (2012), Golden Game (2015) und Heartcore (2016).

CHOREOGRAFIE, PERFORMANCE Teresa Vittucci, Michael Turinsky, Claire Vivianne Sobottke MUSIK Tian Rotteveel SZENOGRAFIE Anna Wohlgemuth, Lilli Unger TECHNISCHE LEITUNG, LICHT Lukas Sander KÜNSTLERISCHE MITARBEIT, OUTSIDE EYE Sheena McGrandles OUTSIDE EYE Marcel Bugiel, Rafał Pierzyński PRODUKTION groundworkers / Kira Koplin

Eine Koproduktion von OH DEAR und dem Verein für Philosophische Praxis, mit dem Tanzhaus Zürich, der Kaserne Basel und dem Arsenic Lausanne. In Kooperation mit dem Wildwuchs Festival und dem WUK Performing Arts, Wien. Das Gastspiel ist gefördert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds. Unterstützt von Pro Helvetia, Stadt Zürich Kultur, Fachstelle Kultur Kanton Zürich, Kultur Stadt Wien und Migros-Kulturprozent. Mit herzlichem Dank an ImpulsTanz Festival, Flausen und Young artists in residency / theaterlabor Bielefeld. Medienpartner: taz. die tageszeitung.